#breastisbest: Your Otherwise Decision is too.

breast-is-best

Excuse me while I start with some self preening. I am proud of myself. My baby was exclusively breastfed for the first six months.  I admit it, there were times I was considering to switch. Illness, pain, outings, weddings, reasons were many but somehow I stuck with breastfeeding and I couldn’t be happier.

Many a times when she got cranky or wouldn’t sleep well, people would tell me to give her formula. They would come up with many assumptions of their own and leave me completely confused.

“May be your milk supply isn’t enough for her, she is hungry”

“Just give her a bottle. She is too weak to suck from the breast….”

The list goes on and on but you get the jist. I am sure if I listened to them, there would be yet another thousand people who would question my decision AGAIN!

Anyway I was determined to breastfeed her and that is what I did. Even if it meant nursing  her for almost an hour and repeat again after another. Even if it meant having to sit up longer than your back can bear or becoming a human pacifier for her when she seeked comfort. (She hated silicone pacifiers).

Every baby is different and every mother has different situations to tackle. We do what is best for the baby. It is really NONE of anyone’s business to judge our parenting choices.

But you see that was completely my choice. The fact that I work from home-made things a wee bit easier.

But every baby is different and every mother has different situations to tackle. We do what is best for us, for the baby and for the family. It is really NONE of anyone’s business to even judge our parenting choices.

Sometimes it is not easy for moms to go down the “Breastfeed-Only” path. There are a lot of things attached to it. Milk supply, returning to work, problem in latching, baby’s and mom’s health, injuries and many more. Many a times formula becomes the only way to go.

Promoting breastfeeding doesn’t have to mean undermining formula feeding.

I have seen people judging these moms and questioning their abilities. And it’s not just about feeding choices. Right from the moment you hold the tiny little creature you gave birth to, people start throwing all kinds of do’s and dont’s at you.

Be it what the baby should wear or how she should be soothed, how to make them sleep in through the night, everything we do is questionable for someone or the other.

“Oh your baby is crying? She must be hungry. May be you don’t feed her enough?”

“You baby doesn’t sleep through the night? Mine did! I think you need to work on your sleep training methods..”

“You can borrow my book, I applied everything it said and see how easy my baby is!”

While we gulp down our anger and respond with an oh-so-kind-of-you-thank-you smile, it leaves us exhausted.

If you can create a baby, you can tackle all the things that come with it. It is quite intuitive to mothers.

Let all these well wishing devils know you do not really care about what they think. If you can create a baby, you can tackle all the things that come with it. It is quite intuitive to mothers. It may seem terrifying initially  and things will go out of hands but  you will survive and so will your baby.

My little one will turn 1 soon and she is still breastfeeding along with solids and occasional formula. People say I should start weaning her now but I am not ready. Neither is my baby. I don’t care what the rules say, I will do what I have to do.

August is the breastfeeding awareness month and I am glad how people are uniting and organizing campaigns to promote breastfeeding. But let me tell you promoting breastfeeding doesn’t have to mean undermining formula feeding. Ultimately it has to be a mother’s decision.

And to all you rock star moms out there, DO NOT let anyone let you down about your choices. You decide to breastfeed, good for you. If not, that is okay too.  You know what is best for your baby, so do it with proud. And all those unsolicited advice and questioning stares that you get? You look and listen and shove them up where the sun don’t shine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “#breastisbest: Your Otherwise Decision is too.

Share Your Comments! It keeps this blog going!

