Me, my niece and the bedtime rituals…

Babies are those small bundles of joy that spread happiness with their smiles. With them around everyone is either in their playful moods or just happy. You forget all your worries at just the sight of your baby.

My regular readers would know that I have a deep attachment with my niece.

She was this cute small baby who had just begun to crawl when I was in school. As soon as I would reach home, I would throw my bag away and take her in my arms and play with her for some time before even changing and having my lunch.
Everyone in the family was in the same habit. As if she was the stress buster and mood lifter of our house.

I vividly remember every part of her childhood. And the part that I enjoyed a lot was the bedtime. My bhabhi ( sis in law) would cleanse her with warm water, change her diapers, feed her and then would tell her stories of fairies, Santa Claus and angels. It was as if I was in a different world of magic.

I once asked my bhabhi why she would do this every night before she sleeps. It’s not that she really understood the stories.

She told me, like us, it is very important for babies to have a good night’s sleep. If they don’t get a sound sleep they wake up irritated next day which affects their health.

I clearly remember her words, “She may not understand the stories but it has a calming effect on her. She has gotten used to the sound of my voice when I tell those stories. She relates that sound with sleep.”

“So you read and tell her stories so she can have a sound sleep?” I asked.

“Yes. But that is not enough. It is also very important that babies don’t wet themselves in their sleep. If they do, there is a high chance of catching cold if they aren’t changed immediately. This disturbs their sleep as well. They wake up crying which is not good for their health either.”

“Hmm, that’s why the diaper change every night. Right?” I said getting a hang of it now.

“Right. But the diaper should have good absorbency and should be dry from the inside as well. Some diapers are dry from the outside but you find the baby wet from inside which causes rashes to their soft skin.”

And that is why I remember why she was so particular about the brand of the diapers she bought. It was pampers always.

Throughout her childhood I saw the same pampers packets in her bedside drawer. Just the size changed over the months but the label remained same.

It became a routine for me now, to go to her room every night just before my niece’s sleeping time.

Sometimes I would help her sponging the baby and with her I too would drift off to my fairyland, only to find out in the morning,a happy me tucked in the bed beside my niece.

These bedtime rituals have made me and my niece’s bond so strong that even today when I visit them she would ask me to tell her stories of fairies and would sleep with me that night.

Share Your Comments! It keeps this blog going!

